Why I decided to join Zuri Internship

Why I decided to join Zuri Internship

My Goals for the Zuri Internship

Introduction

Before I begin, I'll like to introduce myself, my name is Ola Ishola, a career changer. I'm currently transitioning from a career as a network engineer to become a software developer. I'm a Javascript software developer with experience in ReactJS, Nodejs, MongoDB, Material UI, Boostrap, and other technologies. Enough of the intro and let's get to meet who the incredible Zuri and the internship is.

Who is Zuri

The Zuri team is an expert in unlocking brilliance with hands-on beginner and expert training, the team pride themselves in successfully creating a global network of a highly adept intelligent workforce that can help your company achieve their mission-critical projects and goals. For more info on Zuri check their website Zuri.team here.

What is Zuri Internship

HNG Internship is a long-running, large-scale virtual internship for people learning to code and design. It focuses on the post-training phase and creates a virtual work environment for participants.

The internship is a fully remote program that enables you to learn and improve your skills by working on real-world projects with like-minded.

The Internship has the following tracks:

  • Frontend Development
  • Backend Development
  • DevOps
  • UI/UX design
  • Mobile Development
  • Digital Marketing

The Internship is designed to surface the very best of candidates out of a large pool of participants. It is fast-paced and challenging and helps people learn how to work in teams, deal with pressure and quickly expand their knowledge. Visit Zuri Internship for more info.

My Goals for the Internship

My main goal for the internship is to improve on my collaboration skills by working and building real-world projects in a team using the tech skills I have acquired and also to learn from the teammates in any areas of my weakness. To learn the industry standard of building a production-grade application by collaborating with designers and engineers using collaborative tools and designs.

What I want to achieve

By the end of the 8 weeks of the Frontend Development Internship, my aim is;

  • To improve my design skills using Figma and to enhance my working relationships with designers
  • To have multiple real-world projects in my developer portfolio to showcase to employers during job interviews
  • To enhance my understanding of ReactJS, its ecosystem and to solidify my skills in building projects with the said technology.
  • To be a better developer and be ready for job opportunities in the tech industry.

To achieve the above mentioned, I have found resources on Git and GitHub for enhancing collaboration Git & GitHub by Traversymedia. Also a beginner tutorial by Figma in 40 mins by Traversymedia. A beginner JavaScript course by DevED Beginner Vanilla JS and a basic tutorial for HTML HTML for Beginners.

Conclusion

The above is the reason I decided to join the Zuri internship and by the way, this is my first article on hasnode. Thanks for reading.

Wish me luck.